Languages Come in Many Forms

I am studying Spanish and Intercultural studies in college, but I so wish that I had time to study more languages. Someday…

I haven’t even seen this movie, but I’ve heard it’s great. I do know this song sequence is incredible though. Seamless transition between 25 languages, of which only parts of about 3 are understood by me. This reinforces my desire to learn more languages, even if only in part.

I have watched several movies recently with different languages in them (Kon-Tiki, The Way Back, and Into the White, The Great Escape), and have found myself extremely interested. I want to understand them, to know exactly what the characters are saying, not an approximation translation. But having studied Spanish for about 5 years now, I still can’t even understand all of the Spanish in movies. It will be a long process, but I hope that I will be able to do some study.

I highly recommend learning another language. The United States has a fairly strong tradition of being mono-lingual. Other countries often learn English and other languages, but we rarely teach other languages to our kids or learn them as adults. Learning a language as a child is considerably easier, but it is good for the adult brain as well.

Learning a second (or third) language changes the way you think, and opens up so many opportunities. I definitely recommend doing so, or having your children do so. It’s something that will only get more useful in the coming years, as the world becomes increasingly connected and globalized.

One response

Leave a Reply

